[tweetmeme source=”LessonsInBiz” only_single=false]

Business is an economic system in which goods and services are exchanged for money (usually, unless otherwise stated) on the basis of their perceived worth. Every business requires some form of investment and an increasing number of customers to whom its output can be sold at profit on a consistent basis. But in the quest to increase your profits, are you sure that there are no laws that you go against?

I have a friend who operates an online site for models. He has been running the gig for a few years and his constant problem was that most of the members on his site share the copyrighted materials to other people. He tries to do a DMCA report but everyday, new content keeps cropping up. Of course, with a DMCA notice, the webmaster has no choice but to remove the copyrighted material that has been reported. And it is fine and dandy for pictures and all other materials that have been stamped with the words “copyright” but for blogs and other intellectual properties, what can we do to protect our own content/s?

Copyright infringement when it comes to writing is someone who passes off your work as their own. I also had an experience where one of my articles was published in another blog site and instead of being flattered (as someone suggested), I got angry. Why? Because a different name showed up as the author. I spend my day reading and researching on topics that would hold the interest of my readers. After that, I make a draft and very meticulously check for any errors that I might have made. You can say that I am a stickler for details. I would go over the draft a hundred times over before I publish it. That’s how much I care about the articles I write. Because I care about the people who would read it. It is a sad waste of talent and of intellect then when one passes off a blog or a write-up as their own.

We all have different writing styles and sometimes, I stray from it just to have some pizzazz. I wonder then why people steal even just a basic blog, a simple article. Is it a lack of talent? Or is it because it’s easier to do than come up with your own idea? Blogging has reached new heights. It has become a phenomenon which rocks even the small business owners’ world. And as it sweetens the pot for us writers, the bitterness grows because of incidents like when someone copies your whole article and you, the writer who has been up all night drumming your fingers and racking your brains on what to write about, just cannot do anything except to just grin and bear it. Have you ever had a similar experience? Feel free to share it in the comments.