[tweetmeme source=”LessonsInBiz” only_single=false] Have you read how office managers rejoiced because of Facebook outage last September? Now, I don’t blame you if you think this is exaggerating it a bit. It sounds too crazy to be true but then I won’t be surprised if it is.

Fact is, employees get distracted easily. Actually, not only employees but even those who operate their own small business. Who among us have not been guilty in taking a peek at our personal Facebook page while working or posting tweets unrelated to business? Or sending out personal emails and chatting on IM?

I had been an employee too and frankly when I get fidgety, I sometimes do personal stuff on the job too like opening my mail or posting updates on my own networking site thinking that it’s okay because it’s just a bit of time, just a little something to help me relax and take the edge off. One might think that this practice is harmless but sorry to bring you back to earth, it actually has a negative effect on the company’s overall production.

Fine, it’s only what? 5 minutes off your time? But if every employee does the same thing, your productivity would suffer a great deal. Imagine if you’re 10 in a team that’s about 50 minutes of the company’s time. The company I’ve worked for before was able to address that issue effectively. They blocked off all sites unrelated to business. And guess what? Our productivity went up although there were a few snide comments from employees about not having a life. The company’s retort? Simple. You have a life outside your job. Do what you will on your own time but while working, do what you should on our time.