[tweetmeme source=”LessonsInBiz” only_single=false] I have been racking my brain for a new topic I could write about for a good hour before I realized, I haven’t featured an entrepreneur for the longest time. So what did I do? Well, I looked for one, naturally and one post actually held my interest so much so that I decided to write about him today.

Bob Williamson, started out like a typical kid who ran from home, became a junkie, started a software company who now owns a $26 million software company, Horizon Software International.

What is inspiring about him is that he does not have any degree, had a criminal record in fact and yet he was able to rise up to the challenge earn a name for himself. Because of his background, the only jobs he was able to get were menial. His is a true rags to riches story that  startup entrepreneurs should draw inspiration from. Let me give you some lessons I got from reading his bio.

  • It doesn’t matter where you came from or how bad your experience is, if you have the will you can change your future. Sure, Bob Williamson was off to a bad start but he did not let that deter him from being successful.
  • Never let an opportunity pass you by. He figured out a niche and he followed through even though there were considerable risks.
  • Contrary to popular belief, you don’t need to have thousands of dollars to start a business. Sure, you need money but you’d need to start small and climb slowly up the ladder of success.
  • The key to the success of any small business is for the person to have passion, commitment and creativity and then maybe, just maybe you could end up like Bob Williamson too.